VE for barrier coating & protecting new hull from the inside?

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by leaky, Feb 5, 2017.

1. leaky

leaky Senior Member

Hi,

So I've got this kit boat I'm finishing, a 32 Holland (downeast). It's solid PE w/ a VE skin on the outside. In the process of closing things off I'd like to add some barrier coat in the inside and either across the whole bilge or in some areas, gel coat (will use an ISO) as an additional barrier and for cosmetics.

The purpose of the barrier coat is basically to keep engine oils, fuels, anti freeze, or whatever ends up in the bilge from getting seeped into the bare PE fiberglass. Also I understand sometimes blisters actually are triggered on the inside of the hull, so to me it makes sense to attempt to add some barrier simply for water.

I've never used VE before, I assume it's waxed or unwaxed like PE.. my initial thought is to prep the area, roll a couple coats of unwaxed VE onto the area, then a couple coats of unwaxed gel coat, followed by PVA to promote full cure. Is this sane?

The reason I'm looking to use these resins, versus an epoxy or bilgecoat, is I'd like to keep things in a more bondable state should I realize I want to add structures or bulkheads in the hull, ie I can grind into or through gel coat but if it's well bonded and a little bit is suspended in the joint it's not going to harm a future bond of VE or PE much. If I use epoxy or paints then I'll literally need to remove the entire coating in order to bond later with a VE or PE.

My finish work will be using PE for non-critical and reasonably repairable areas and VE for critical structures or things that would be very difficult to go back and repair.

I attached an outside and inside picture for a little info on the project. Right now I'm about to buy the engine & transmission - the mock of which is going to dictate how to complete the engine bed structure, however when I get there, before installing the engine I need to do my coating.