Building a 21' classic runabout

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by TBH736, Apr 20, 2016.

1. TBH736

TBH736 Junior Member

The project: Nelson Zimmer's 21' Palm Beach
    Boat building experience: none, this is my first build :)
    What most say about my endeavor: Your building a what!? :p

Hello all, this is my first post even though i have been working on the boat for almost a year now. I had wood shop in high school and have stuck with it as a hobby whenever my real job allows me to have a shop set up. I wanted a big project and i think this is about as big as they come for one person.

If all goes well, i will be bolting on the chines and keel in the next few weeks and as i get closer to planking the bottom i find myself with a few questions. My original plan was to build the bottom like the boats from Hacker Craft, 2 layers of 1/4" mahogany on opposite diagonals and an outer layer of 1/2" mahogany planks all with West System. Now i am thinking i want to use 3M 5200 for the 1/2" planks. looking for any insight on mixing West System layers with a 5200 final layer.

I have seen bottoms with 1/4" plywood and 1/2" planks on top of that with 5200. My thought is that my 2 layers of 1/4" in West System will act similar to the plywood and the bottom would be good.

Thanks for any help!

Attached Files:

2. tom28571

tom28571 Senior Member

I admire your ambition and your goal. I've seen some bottom boards glued and caulked with 5200 but never plywood bottoms sandwiched with it. Several similar materials might work fine but why go away from the general practice that has gained acceptance all round the boatbuilding industry? Epoxy glued plywood lamination works and is well proven. I don't see any limber holes in the bottom frames.

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member