Ignorance ain't so bliss... I need direction!

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Woobs, Oct 27, 2015.

1. Woobs

Woobs Junior Member

To you, the experts ! :)

I have fallen in love with a boat.

Here's the story; I have rough line drawings of a specific boat (example below). There are "some" details but clearly this is not a set of plans one could build from. The boat has been built before but, I cannot locate any plans or an original boat to copy... just some pictures. Plywood hull. Approximately, 17' LOA /84" Beam. (Sterndrive)

As far as boatbuilding is concerned I am a beginner,...well, to quantify, I have owned (and do own) wood boats but, I would like to build this boat.

So my questions are: What do I need to do to have "building" plans made? What would a full set of building plans entail? Whom do I contact to do this? And what kind of resources would I need to have a set of building plans made (how much)?

Thanks for any help, info or advice (in advance) :)

Attached Files:

2. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

3. Woobs

Woobs Junior Member

Thanks, I already have a mahogany runabout though....

Glen - L does not have the design. I'm looking to build this specific design.

Here's my Greavette...

Attached Files:

4. Pericles

Pericles Senior Member

5. Woobs

Woobs Junior Member

Thank-you for the suggestions, they look like nice boats.
    However, if I may reiterate, I am specifically looking to build this specific design.

It is a 17' LOA with a 7' beam and a 24 degree deadrise powered by an v8 through an I/O unit.

I need help finding designers that can work with what I have got.

6. upchurchmr

upchurchmr Senior Member

7. upchurchmr

upchurchmr Senior Member

8. rasorinc

rasorinc Senior Member

9. peter1708

peter1708 Junior Member

Woobs,

The link below:

http://intheboatshed.net/2014/02/17...etro-speed-boat/bunduki-paul-dyer-dsc_4859-2/