Complete Beginner's Questions

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by James88, Feb 17, 2009.

1. James88

James88 Junior Member

Hi everyone!

First of all, please don't blame me for all the silly questions I'm going to ask. ;) I'm a bit in a difficult situation: I have to design a small motoyacht and I'm practically totally new to boat design and construction. The whole thing is more of a styling project than a real-world conrstruction and engineering project - so I might still have a chance. ;)
    The final result will only be detailed 3D visualizations of the design. So I definitly don't have to go into every tiny detail but I still want to make it as tought-out as possible.

The design should convey the racy features of a powerboat with the details of a classical motoryacht. Similar to the Wallypower.
    I started by creating a basic hull shape. Since it's a planing boat the hull has a large flat surface at the back. However I'm not sure on the shape of the chine and the jets/propellers.

[​IMG]

I've found some books and web sources on boat design but it's quite hard to get the information needed. I'd be happy if you could share your thoughts and criticism as this might be the best way for me to learn!

Thanks in advance. :)

Best,
    James

2. drmiller100

drmiller100 Junior Member

homework question????
    what material will the hull be made of?
    how big?
    open ocean? big lake? small lake?

3. James88

James88 Junior Member

The hull will probably be made of carbon fibre, it will roughly be 15 metres long and should be designed for off shore cruising.

4. Olav

Olav naval architect

As far as I can judge from the picture, your design won't work properly as a planing hull.

- The chines seem to have a rather large radius, so they won't shed the upcoming water well - especially in the aft part of the hull. Make them as sharp as possible and let them reach right up to the stern.