University project: Multihull wave making drag

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by leegrace, Oct 6, 2005.

1. leegrace

leegrace Junior Member

Hello,

I have been browsing the forums and found some very useful and interesting information from a collaboration of great minds...

I am currently in my final year at University and I am embarking on a research project looking into reducing the wave making drag of multihulls by optimising hull spacing.

I am at the very early stages of my research but any information or help along the way would be greatly appreciated.

The rough plan for my project is to do a literature review and research on papers and information already in existance. This will be followed up by some testing on a computational fluid dynamics (CFX) package using some test models created in maxsurf. Hopefully this will lead to some interesting results and allow me to make a scale model to test in the universities flow tank.

I originally wanted to get an understanding of how the spacing of catamaran hulls affect wave making drag, i.e. constructive/destructive wave patterns being the resultant. This has led me to this investigation with my outcome hopefully being able to produce some design parameters allowing the amateur designer to use my database to help initial planning, sizing and spacing of hulls. I am well aware that much of the wave making drag can be reduced by optimising the shape and form of the hulls in the first place but I beleive there to be room for improvement into the understanding of hull spacing.

So, hopefully anyone with any input will be willing to contribute to this discussion and help me and others to understand this aspect of multihull design a little more.

Thanks
    Lee

2. RANCHI OTTO

RANCHI OTTO Naval Architect

Interesting paper :
    Design and application of modern high-speed catamaran
    Sname publication

Several tank test results with influence of clearance btw. hulls

3. Leo Lazauskas

Leo Lazauskas Senior Member