Unique 5' remote control trimaran, thoughts and advice

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by wizzwas, Sep 18, 2017.

1. wizzwas

wizzwas Junior Member

I'll start by saying I am a newbie here and to all this boat building, so don't know too much technical stuff. Hello!

I am doing some research for the latest side project I'm doing at work. As I said, I'm not an expert on any of this stuff really, but I do have an interest in it all and I'm fairly handy.

Basically we want a remote camera boat. A remote control boat with a remote television camera mounted on the top.
    I intend to spec' it for a big camera that weighs around 20kg(basketball-ish size), although it will probably be something lighter most of the time, plus the extra gubbins that go with it and other boat internals (motors, batteries, transmitters etc.). So all in all it would be a 30kg maximum payload.
    The 20kg of the camera will be about 50-60cm above the water, and higher for lighter payloads.

My current thinking is it should be around 150cm (5') long and 100cm or so wide. It can't be too big as it needs to be as discreet as possible, and not too much draft (30cm?) as it will likely be launched from the side of shallow lakes. I thought about buying 3 model boat hulls, one big and two smaller hulls, and making the members to attach it all. But as most model hulls don't come with maximum weight capacity there's a bit of a question mark. Tempted to make the hulls myself from fibreglass going on basic hull designs but again, don't really know what weights different sizes/designs can take. And I'm just presuming a trimaran would be a better choice than a catamaran for this project?
    A complete carbon fibre sleek design would be the dream though.

I'd be really appreciative of any thoughts, advice, pictures, hull sizes/designs... anything you guys care to add.
    And don't say it can't be done, we already have a smaller 1m long single hull RC camera boat!

2. hump101

hump101 Senior Member