Need help deciding on an ASTM (or other) Test Standard

Discussion in 'Materials' started by topwatertiger, Aug 15, 2023.

1. topwatertiger

topwatertiger Junior Member

Quick background on my question.

I am a current Naval Architect/Marine Engineer working for a design and consulting firm. My entire experience up to this point is with large steel vessels. I am in the beginning stages of designing a fishing skiff and am looking to explore composite materials that, to my knowledge, have never been used in the boat building industry before.

I have experience with ASTM D790 and successfully used it to test two different 3D printed materials in the past.

I am now looking to find a test standard to find the sectional properties of my proposed sandwich. Without giving everything away I believe the first sandwich I would like to test will consist of:
    Foam Core
    Layer of coating
    Mesh cloth
    Layer of coating
    Layer of coating

Is anyone familiar with any test standards they can recommend me to look into? I have a few ASTM standards bookmarked but reaching out for opinions from people more familiar with composites than I am.

2. Tops

Tops Senior Member

Are you familiar with Vectorply's software Vectorlam? It has a neat comparison feature.

3. topwatertiger

I've never used that before. Thanks for the recommendation. I will play around with it today.

4. topwatertiger

Just got done clicking around on there for an hour or so. Really neat tool but not sure that will be able to help me unless I am misunderstanding the full abilities of Vectorlam.

I am more or less looking for a testing standard to apply to a real model of the proposed sandwich and find out the sectional properties. The sandwich is comprised of a few materials that are tough to find material properties on and I feel the easiest way for me to figure out the properties will be by doing tests.

5. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member