Newbie question: would this trimaran folding system work? (parallel hinge)

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Matthias S., Sep 25, 2020.

1. Matthias S.

Matthias S. New Member

Hello everyone,

I'm new to boat building and just signed up to this forum to ask my newbie question. I've been reading quite a lot about folding trimarans (also on this forum) and right now I'd like to try and build a W17. There's just one thing: I really need the amas to be foldable on the water, so the boat should still be stable enough while in the folded mode (for paddling or a small motor, with the sails down of course). Here in Berlin there's really only little space to get into the water. Also, it would be really good if the boat can stay in a berth in folded mode during the summer, so the amas should not be rotated too much.

Today while day-dreaming at work I've figured out the parallel hinge system as seen in the attached pdf. The unique features it offers are:
    • Foldable while on water
    • Amas are not rotated, the top side stays at the top
    • Amas are lowered a little bit for increased stability (can be adjusted by the length of the inner and outer board pairs)
    Let me explain the system also in words. The pink circles resemble rotatable joints. The blue and green rectangles represent pairs of boards, not tubes, which form the akas. These boards should be as broad as the original akas. The purple part on top is a connector which provides the parallel faces for the parallel hinges.

The blue boards are forming one parallel hinge, while the green boards are forming another one. You can imagine the boards as the long sides of two parallelograms, while the short sides are formed by the ama / the main hull and the purple part. In this way, the ama cannot rotate while moving to and from the main hull.