Two choices for distributing weight - which is best?

Discussion in 'Stability' started by Mamaboo, Nov 4, 2009.

1. Mamaboo

Mamaboo Junior Member

I am not a boat designer but I have a question that someone here may be able to help with. I am adding approximately 800 pounds of equipment to a 42 foot hard chined planing powerboat that displaces about 24,000 pounds. I have two choices for the placement of the equipment. The first is to consolidate all the equipment on the centerline approximately 4 feet above the waterline. The second choice, and the more convienient from a layout perspective, is to split the equipment and place 400 pounds outboard near the rail on each side. It will still be the same distance above the waterline. In both cases, the weight will be roughly 40% forward of the transom. I am assuming (probably incorrectly) that the two scenarios would be equal in static stability tests or calculations, but in a heavy seaway with the boat rolling side to side, will the inertia from having the weight split out on the rails adversely affect the stability and comfort as opposed to having it all on the centerline? If so, is it likely to make a noticable difference? Is there a way to actually calculate the difference between the two scenarios? Thanks in advance for your help.

2. Tcubed

Tcubed Boat Designer

You guessed correctly.
    In both cases the added weight is at the same height so will affect static righting moments equally.
    At 40% forward from transom on that type of boat and considering it is about 3.3 % total weight you should be close enough to longitudinal center of gravity to affect trim very little.

Now to whether out towards the sides or on the centerline-
    Definitely out towards the rails.
    This will increase your rotational moment of inertia about the longitudinal axis. (rolling inertial moments)
    This means your rolling period will increase or rolling frequency will decrease.
    Ie roll more slowly.