Twin V6 to single diesel conversion

Discussion in 'Propulsion' started by burt2, Nov 19, 2005.

1. burt2

burt2 Junior Member

I am in the process of buying a CARVER 27’ Mid Cabin which has 2 X King Cobra V6’s on Mercruiser legs (not going) I have a few years experience in fibre glass and carbon fibre laminating and 3 years of small boat rigging, so I’m pretty confident in altering the transom, but I have never played with stern drives before. A quick look around has showed me the Volvo gear is better than Mercruiser but at a price, so im not fussed if I don’t have the best but diesel is important.

The two engines have had salt water running straight through them and even though they have done only 400 hours they haven’t been started in 5 years so I think they are stuffed. The legs appear ok but are only Alpha I legs so they are not really suitable for a diesel engine, of course I want to do it as cheaply as possible but at the same time I want to make it as functional and as safe as possible. I think I will just get rid of both engines and legs and try to get a little money for them to go towards a Volvo diesel and duo prop leg but or something similar.

A few Questions; are DUO props much better, are Mercruiser cheaper to repair, where can I find good info and learn how to set up ratio and prop size and I’ve also thought of putting two small diesels onto to Alpha ones

Any suggestions/advice would be great; the boat is a mess so I got the whole year to think about motors and configurations

Thank,
    Glenn

2. cyclops

cyclops Senior Member

Supposedly Volvo's are only for twin engined, new Mfg. built boats. $$$$ Volvo is now American auto company owned. Should be almost up to US auto quality by now. Ford or GM owns Volvo. Any difference? :eek:

3. cyclops

cyclops Senior Member