Twin engine installations question

Discussion in 'Diesel Engines' started by Mik the stick, Dec 11, 2012.

1. Mik the stick

Mik the stick Senior Member

I know twin engined installations often have separate shafts and props. I know one big engine is cheaper than two small ones. I know two to six or more engines can be geared to run together on one or two shafts. I know that gearing costs more (but engines are better geared anyway) but for a twin installation one shaft and prop would save weight. it would have the advantage that if one engine packed up you wouldn't have to do anything, the other engine would continue without drag from a dead prop which was never fitted. The Nordhaven 46 has a 27hp backup engine. Under normal circumstances that engine and prop is deadweight (and drag). I think two 75 - 80hp engines on one shaft would be better. Why is this not more common on little ships.

I love this site I have found out a lot of info in such a short time. I am a retired engineer and the theory of boat design is becoming a hobby for me. Knowledge seems to add more questions for me at the moment.;)
    mik the stick.

2. El_Guero

El_Guero Previous Member

Well from an engineering perspective, it would really bite to go to all that work and damage the prop, bearings, shaft, gears .....

:)

Other than that, it sounds COOL!

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Damage to the underbody gear is more likely and more difficult to repair. You can rebuild an engine in the middle of the ocean, but will be hard put to take a bent or broken shaft and replace it. From the reliability point of view, two independent systems are the best. Also, it is not more expensive to install a second shaft and propeller than running two engines together. If the engines are not perfectly synchronized, one has not enough load and it causes all kinds of other problems.

4. Mik the stick