Help with resin infusion

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by drtcmm, Nov 2, 2010.

1. drtcmm

drtcmm Junior Member

I am new to the world of resin infusion and the small parts I have made seem to have voids! Am I not right thinking that if I get a bridge the void should fill with resin? On the part I am making, there is some lettering in the mould and the carbon cloth doesn't sit fully into it should the lettering not fill with resin? Is there any way of stopping the voids? I am using a vacuum pump and the gauge reads 28hg and when I turn off the pump it will hold that for 24hrs or more so I dont think I am getting leaks. Any help will be most welcome thanks!

2. Herman

Herman Senior Member

The resin can run over the lettering without filling it. Has to do with cappliary action in the fibers, which lacks in the void.

You could pre-fill the lettering, or try with a higher vacuum.

3. drtcmm

drtcmm Junior Member

how do i get a higher vacuum?

4. Landlubber

Landlubber Senior Member

...., emmm, from my experiences with infusion, I would suggest that the lettering may have sharp edges, rounded edges seem to fill easily wheras sharp edges can leave fine lines of air along them. Maybe rounding the edges may help.

...you cannot simply raise the vacuum, I guess Herman means to get a better pump, but 28 is plenty for small parts anyhow.

5. jim lee

jim lee Senior Member

We've found..

Where ever there is any bridging, you get resin blobs. And -every- resin blob ends up having, or being, bubbles. They do -not- fill up with solid resin.

You can skin coat the part first to smooth out the hard edges? You can get really fancy with the glass packing? But bridging, we've found is always a disaster just as you've described.

28hg is fine. We've found that is doesn't seem to matter if you have the last n-th degree of vacuum. Its having a perfect leak free seal that's important. Leaks cause bubble streams that flush the resin out of your part.. Goes on and on..