Riveted steel hull

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by MartynSam, Feb 21, 2016.

1. MartynSam

MartynSam New Member

Hi all
    Martyn and Sam here! I have fallen upon this site, perhaps I should start with a short :))) story first....
    We bought a lovely little Seamaster 27 back in 96 and moved on board, job done , I am an engineer Sam's job is to look after me :)
    In about 2005 we decided to move onto a bigger vessel, I was working in a boatyard, we had limited funds so we bought a restoration project..
    What we have is a 1940 ish steel hull, originally galvanised and rivetted construction.. The bottom had been overplated at least 3 times! So I cut back , replated, rebuilt superstructure , fitted a couple of engines , fitted out moved on board had a pot noodle and a glass of red wine....:) love the boat lived on for nearly ten years , motored around the East Coast and English Channel....
    Happy Days (you can Google Elephant Daze and find us)
    Does anyone have any idea what this vessel may have been???
    I shall be adding photographs....
    I hope someone can help, or! I hope we can have natter about old steel boats :)

2. MikeJohns

MikeJohns Senior Member

Hello and welcome to the site

I've attached one of your pictures. The boat looks like a Pilot boat, or Harbourmasters launch, or Naval launch. What history if any do you have ? It looks like a Dutch build.

cheers

Attached Files:

3. MartynSam

MartynSam New Member

Hi Mike
    We have virtually no history, we bought the boat as a shell, there were 2 little brass plates saying "grease sternglands daily" on board and the angle iron ribs were stamped Port Talbert Steel.
    Everything from deck level up we fabricated ourselves to make the vessel a comfortable live aboard for 2.
    There is evidence the hull had 4 lifting points (can still be seen on pictures although lifting point cut off)so I suspect this was intended to sit on a ship!
    Thanks for the interest.

4. MikeJohns