conservative vs liberal design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Stratiegery01, Aug 21, 2006.

1. Stratiegery01

Stratiegery01 Junior Member

Hello hello everyone. I am a graduating industrial/marine design student, this being my first post to this website. I have been reading several topics and, forgive me for being blunt, I am disappointed in the lack of “vision” the majority of people are expressing.

As a student I want to know if my attempts of designing innovative marine vessels are futile. There is no question that the mono-hull, deep V, classic white SeaRay look is going to die, and it’s amazing that such a trend has lasted for 50 years, however most people on this forum seem to be expecting such a design.

I would like a consensus of what marine designers think the trends are and why the industry keeps going in circles. Is there no hope for creating that new boating experience?

2. Finlander

Finlander Junior Member

back at ya ;)

What do you propose?

Are you interested in planing hulls?

Passagemaker dispacement boats?

What's your medium: metal, f-glass, carbon fiber?

For what it's worth, I'm bored with prevailing trends too.

3. yipster

yipster designer

its "only" 20 years back searay came with the midcabin and not 50 but make no mistake, i still like my boat!
    so do the walking by boat lookers that keep giving it compliments. and i must say it has a lot going for it.
    gas is getting more expensive tho and i too am a bit of a out of the box thinker.

so i do hope new devellopments will eventually result in practical new pleasure boat experiences.
    prototyping, building cost, customer survey's and many other factors play, i think even for brunswick, a role

4. sail-bob

sail-bob Junior Member