tryin to find my perfect boat... 1/2 mackenzie 1/2 grand banks dory w sail/power/row

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by jeepster, Feb 27, 2011.

1. jeepster

jeepster New Member

well this is my first poast on boatdesign.net and i have to say im amazed at the information offered here...

i was wondering if anybody could help...

currently i own a 78 glasply cuddy cruiser with a merc 470.... i paid 700$ for it and it is an amazing boat..... sure i had to rebuild half the engine and rewire a ton of stuff.... but that is what i do for a living. im a marine mechanic/boat builder/comercial fisherman... so without a question i know my way around boats. that little 19' glasply has taken bigger seas than the 35 footer i work on and handles it like a champ. i just cant afford to dump 100$+ every time i wana go camping or fishing

living in the pacific northwest, some of my favorite past times are trolling for salmon with downriggers and halibut/ling cod fishing.... but i also love fly fishing on the mountain lakes and steelheading on the rivers....

my fishing style has alot of conflict with my choice of boat because you simply cant fit a 20 some foot deep v in a river or flyfish from somehting with 200+hp inboard and a hard top in a lake that outlaws motors.

growing up as a kid, i was a huge sailor and spending my summertime on the east coast- mainly cape ann and glouchester MA, i have always had a soft spot for a dory.

assuming one can call a drift boat a dory, i have been searching for a boat that is a hybrid between a grand banks dory and a mackenzie river drift boat, around 20 feet with either a small inboard diesel, or outboard well, with a sail option.....