Trolling Motor & Battery Advice Required

Discussion in 'Electric Propulsion' started by StormUK, Feb 24, 2021.

1. StormUK

StormUK New Member

Hi,

I am currently building a 12ft plywood skiff which I will be using to sail our local river. I am brand new to boat building and boating in general. I am thinking of using an electric trolling motor as its primary means of propulsion. I quite like the idea of quiet running, less to go wrong over combustion engines (I hope) etc.
    My query is what would be a good size of motor to use and what size battery to go for?

Boats dry weight (according to the plans) 59kg/130lbs
    We only have about 20miles of navigable river to play with and a speed limit of 5 mph.

Is a trolling motor even the way to go?

Any advice is gratefully received. If additional info is required just ask.

thanks

2. ondarvr

ondarvr Senior Member

Any trolling motor will move the boat, you need to decide how long you want it move and how quickly.

On my 17' boat I can use my 80 lb thrust, 24 volt motor for more than 8 straight hours of trolling at very low speeds (below 2mph) and not be out of battery life.

Even on an efficient hull these motors don't typically achieve 5mph or above, they were designed for below that speed.

The higher the thrust, the better control you will have in wind and waves.

You don't really need more than 55 lbs of thrust for that boat, which keeps you in the 12V range. You could probably run all day on two good sized deep cycle batteries.

The cheapest trolling motors don't use power as efficiently, so if you want extended run time get one with PWM, each brand will have its own name for it.

Batteries are an entire subject all to themselves, the prices range from $80 to $800. You can get a "good enough" battery at Auto Zone for about $120

Will Gilmore likes this.
  3. StormUK

StormUK New Member

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

An AGM battery will be a bit more expensive, but they last longer and can be charged faster.