Surf Canoe

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Kieran.NZ, Mar 24, 2012.

1. Kieran.NZ

Kieran.NZ Junior Member

Hi there,

Im an industrial design student in NZ for my project this year i'm looking at redesigning the surf canoe. See vids bellow for surf canoe.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=To8v...DvjVQa1PpcFNPiDcFSVsmHLfo1y2H1xyIChZVyXa_Ea4=

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9WJ...DvjVQa1PpcFNPiDcFSVsmHEcVHSvu0RKuMfEzdcVKqR4=

The surf canoe is a race within the surf sport side of surflifesaving. The boats before about 10 years ago were single hull. They changed to cats as they are more stable and don't fill up with water.

I have come up with a few research questions which i thought i would put on here to see if anyone had info/ ideas on different areas. I am fresh to the boat design area but am eager to learn so any help would be much appreciated.

Questions are.

1. How can I make a faster hull that still performs in mixed surf conditions.
    - I would like to be able to reduce bounce from the forces of paddling to achieve better boat run. Also looking at the bow area and how it could cut through waves better.

2 How can I make the boat pull waves and runners more easily.

3 How could I design the boat differently that it does not broach on waves as easily.
    -see video canoe crashes ^ .These boats are near impossible in big surf (6ft+) to hold straight

4 How can I implement ergonomic principals in such a way that the design
    encourages high paddling efficiency

5 How can the buoy turn be improved through an improved rudder system.

There is a few different restrictions on the boats allot of which are aimed at the single hull canoe. However here are the few which are relevant.
    -LOA. min 5.5m max 6.5m
    -External protusions- There is to be zero external protrusions to the hull. i.e skeg fins or keels.
    -Seating To be incorperated in such a way paddlers paddle 2x2 abreast.