Dory in aluminium

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by pafurijaz, Mar 14, 2018.

1. pafurijaz

pafurijaz Senior Member

Hi, I'm planning a boat on request, a small challenge, but I would like to avoid trivial mistakes, but I'm not expert at all.

Below are the preliminary plans of the hull, from my point of view it seems to be fine, but I repeat I have no experience, as you can see the bottom is slightly curved and the boat will have a mounted an outboard engine.

Any advice on both the general forms and the construction of reinforcements would be very welcome.
    Dory_Skiff_005.png
    Dory_Skiff_Barge_study_plan.png
    Dory_Skiff_Barge_study_plan_p.png

Thanks. :)

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

The cross sections in the bow area have a "V" shape but they are not straight lines but have a little concavity. This should be corrected. Maybe you need to improve the "fairing".

3. messabout

messabout Senior Member

The transom rake to accommodate an outboard motor is typically 14 to 15 degrees, not 12. Best consult the manufacturer of the proposed outboard for their best recommendation.

This is to be a displacement hull presume. The fore and aft rocker will pretty much prevent the boat from planing.

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

That would be great with a small outboard 4HP or less.

5. pafurijaz

pafurijaz Senior Member

I noticed that curve now, thank you, But the guy has changed his mind after I sent him the preliminary drawings.
    I try to ask with the guy, it is he who told me that inclination, thank you now I will tell you to check ..

This is a very useful advice for me, now the guy has chanded idea but I finish anyway the prilimanary study.

Thanks to everyone for the time this is the new boat, this is done again with the measures required by the guy. The model is very similar to those made by Glen-L, but this changes in size.

Dory_Skiff_new.png
    Dory_Skiff_new1.png
    Dory_Skiff_GL_study_plan.png
    Dory_Skiff_GL_study_plan_p.png