To Build a Cat

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Pity098, Apr 28, 2011.

1. Pity098

Pity098 Junior Member

Howdy,

I have been lurking here for a while, and have decided to look for some input on a pet project of mine if anyone here will consent to give it.

Background: I live in a landlocked and waterless hell known as the panhandle of Texas so all of this design speculation will more than likely be just that, speculation and fancy. My background is structural engineering; however the focus was steel and concrete so catamaran construction deals with foreign materials. Finally, my sail experience is limited to overtaking and sinking hobie cats in my blissful youth (yes, if you load them enough they sink); and to the design, construction, and racing of concrete canoes in various venues.

Project: Design of an easily constructible and highly livable catamaran with a specific hull configuration, namely the one attached. Speed is secondary to comfort and safety. It will be sail, with double outboard/inboard for problems/windless days.

Thoughts so far: Hull frames (called bulkheads?) at 32” O.C., and double thick frames at bridge deck entrances. Stringers between frames @ 16” O.C around frames, and the hull skinned with two layers of ½” plywood covered in fiberglass/epoxy.

Deck/bridge-house extending from the rear of the catamaran for 36’, supported by 2x6 beams at 16” O.C. and all flooring/ exterior to be two layers of ½” plywood. Beams will again be coated in fiberglass/epoxy.

Hulls are to be 22’ apart center to center.

Requests: Any and all critiques or information without destroying me completely; I am doing this for the hell of it but learning is always a good thing. I know nothing about rigging, layouts, bilges, etc. so bring on the pain.

1. *** Side note that I may build a 1/4th scale model once I figure out how I want to scale loads for testing. It’s a shame there isn’t a Reynolds number for composites and solids (at least that I remember).

Thanks,