Tri performace

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by MMulti, Aug 28, 2006.

1. MMulti

MMulti Junior Member

I am new to the world of multhulls. I understand the idea of displacement/planing hull types in mono hulled craft, but how does a trimaran get the speeds that it does? Does the hull plane? What kind of factors/equations are used to predict the speed potential of a given trimaran.

It appears that more of the disigns are being build with amas that are flush with the bow of the main hull, and they are full length. Does the length of the amas affect the speed of the boat? (as in, longer waterline length gives you a higher hull speed?)

I'm reading the "Good reasons NOT to design" thread with interest. As one of those guys who can't help but designing my own boat, I'll admint I'm starting my research on a 18'-20' minimalist weekending/cruising tri. Still alive after one kayak and one 13.5' day sailer. <grin>

Marvin

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Welcome aboard, Marvin.
    The simple answer is that a multi's hulls can be thin enough (length/beam in the 10:1 to 15:1 range is common) that wave resistance is not nearly as big an issue as it is with monohulls, which must be fatter in order to stay upright. The full answer would take several hundred pages, but the general idea is that multis are thin and so don't have the same 'hump speed' problem that wider hulls do.

3. MMulti

MMulti Junior Member

Can anyone recomend readings on multihull design and sailing theory?

4. cleblanc

cleblanc Junior Member

In order to understand multihull design, you have to understand general sailboat design, hydrodynamic and stability

I have found many books on sailboat design but almost nothing on multihull design.

An older book is Skeenes Element of yacht design but it is very old.

An other book is Principles of Yacht design by Larsson and Eliasson, more modern but doesn't talk about multihull design.

The best reference that I found so far is: