Best Clear For Water Use

Discussion in 'Materials' started by QuantumRock, Jul 5, 2015.

1. QuantumRock

QuantumRock New Member

I apologize if this isn't boat related, but I couldn't think of a more well educated group of people to ask this question to. I am a custom fishing lure painter and have been using BSI 30-minute epoxy to finish my lures with. It has worked great thus far but it adds a lot of weight and I know there is something better out there. In this forums vast knowledge about marine use clears what would be a good finish my lures? Must be able to be applied by dipping the bait in and letting cure, 2 coats max. I have read a lot of MCU's but most of them cause air bubbles to form during curing process when used as a dip solution. Thanks ahead of time for all the help. I have racked my brain on this for a long time and need some professional opinions. Thanks!

2. Jamie Kennedy

Jamie Kennedy Senior Member

You could try West System, and add some acetone to thin it. It is very clear and goes on very thin without thickeners. They have some special epoxies that are extra clear but the regular epoxy should do fine. You can get it in small repair kit sizes as well as larger sizes. For your purpose if you are doing really small batches you should measure the epoxy and hardener with a scale. I think it is 5.3 : 1 by weight. It should say. The repair kits are small enough that you can just use the packets for measure.