Fibreglass hull layup questions.

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by conlan, Jun 23, 2009.

1. conlan

conlan New Member

Hi all.

I have a question regarding a project that I have started.

Firstly, I am new to these boards. so I will introduce myself. I am a keen bass fisherman, and have wanted to build my own boat for many years as a project. I have no experience with glasing, and am primarily looking to develop a new skill that I can use with my hands, and not head. I work in communications with my focus as a Cisco router technician.

I am prepared to make, and expect to make many mistakes travelling down this path, but I will eventually be fishing with a boat that I have built from the ground up in the next few years.

Anyway, enough about me.

I would like to layup my own 13 foot by 5.5 foot semi deep vee hull. It will be decked out as a bass boat, and be running a 60HP outboard motor [109kg].

The critical factor for me will be weight, being such a small boat.

My fibreglass layout for the first hull is planned as follows:

Layer 1: Iso gelcoat

Layer 2: Iso gelcoat layer 2

Layer 3: Tissue glass layer to prevent print through of the glass pattern to the gelcoat

Layer 4: 300g/meter chopped strand matting [ISO resin]

Layer 5: 350g/meter woven roving, orientation from stem to stern [ISO resin]

Layer 6: 300g/meter chopped strand matting [ISO resin]

Layer 7: 350g/meter woven roving, orientation from stem to stern [ISO resin]

Final layer: 300g/meter chopped strand matting [ISO resin]

I am looking for any advice comments on my layup proposal. Of critical importance to me will be the weight of the hull, it being so small.

Will the above layout be strong enough to handle 60Hp of outboard motor?

Am I making any serious mistakes here?

Thanks for any input in advance.

Conlan

Last edited: Jun 23, 2009
  2. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member