Ship build

Discussion in 'Materials' started by danlaw84, Nov 27, 2014.

1. danlaw84

danlaw84 New Member

Ok so this is my first thread so hello to all my name is Dan and I've been in the navy for 7 years now and I am a marine engineer. I have a few questions about building a ship. If you were going to build an old wooden navy frigate in the cheapest way possible for example it would never have to be sea worthy just for sheer aesthetic purposes and the quickness of build it would just have to float and look pretty. what materials could be utilised to cut down the cost and time of the build. I've been told that to build a seaworthy vessel you are looking at £10k a metre.

Dan

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

It depends on many factors. For example, is this a vessel built to a class? That is, will it be shoreside attraction? If you are quoting that price for the hull and deck, it may be possible for a dockside vessel. The rigging is a lot more than that. Also, the amount of brass (polished) will cost a lot too. All the patterns will have to be made for each part. The cannon will also have to be cast. You are talking of a 160 feet vessel. The cheap construction also means it will be rotting apart within a decade.

3. danlaw84

danlaw84 New Member