Transom lay up process advice

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Cashinhand2, May 28, 2021.

1. Cashinhand2

Cashinhand2 Junior Member

Hi All,
    I am relatively new to glass work. Been reading a bit, but couldn't find exactly the info I am looking for.

I am working to give new life to a 1979 Boston Whaler V-20. She has some wet foam in the lower keel area and transom was in bad shape. I know I am crazy, but I like a challenge...
    To start I am focusing on the transom. I have removed the back skin and old transom wood, which was measured to be roughly 1 7/8" thick. I have left 4" around transom perimeter for tabbing. I have ground all internal transom cavity surfaces to fresh glass to achieve best chance for a good bond. I have templated the transom cavity and cut out 2 x 3/4" layers of Coosa Blue Water 26 for a total coosa thickness of 1 1/2", and have bonded those together with thickened West System 5:1 epoxy using the slow hardener. To make up the additional thickness of appox 3/8" or so to get back to original thickness, my plan is to laminate, on each side, 1 layer 1.5 oz CSM and 2 layers of 1708 using laminating VE resin. I have all of this material. After the VE hardens up, mix up some thickened epoxy and apply to old transom cavity / skin, as well as the mating surfaces on the new coosa transom and install and clamp the heck out of it looking for good squeeze out. Then grind hardened squeeze out away and prep for lamination to replace layers of outer transom skin using VE resin again. Followed by Gelcoat, thus the reason for VE at all...

Question 1: To bond new transom into old cavity with epoxy, should the new transom VE be fully cured with a waxed resin, PVA, or other means before attempting to secondary bond? Or can the tacky VE laminate be bonded via epoxy? I think the answer is it must be cured...