Turning a 747-200 into a hybrid powered trimaran

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by pansalacia, Sep 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pansalacia

pansalacia Junior Member

I have been working on an idea recently of turning a 747-100/200 into a powered trimaran.
    i have always believed in reuse before recycle.
    and the distinctive shape and aluminum construction leads the imagination and question of if it's possible for such a conversion.
    although i am an architect by training, i am not versed in 3d cad programs to develop proper modeling like many that have been presented on this forum.

I would sincerely appreciate help in developing proper 3d models for presenting my ideas.
    Any advise on structural limitation, hull design and requirements to convert an airplane hull into a high speed trimaran is also appreciated.

I choose a 747 because it is recognizable, it's cheap to get a stripped hull, and as a potential business to develop and build more, there are over 150 planes believed due for retiring in the coming years as more efficient planes become available.

i have chosen the 100 and 200 series of the 747 is because the configuration i wish to achieve cuts the fuselage at front of the wing box and flipping the fuselage. by having this configuration i can use the structure to support the 2 sidepods. and by flipping it, the shortened wings now can also support wing sails.

the wings are cut off at the support for the engine closest to the fuselage on each side.
    i can imagine the side pods incorporate the power train, 2 electric motor drives.
    the 2/3 of each wing can be used in a folded wing configuration, have the flap activators "bumps" removed and be smoothed out and have solar panels covering the entire surface.

the goal is to create a low cost high speed ferries or cargo carriers. it would not be too difficult to use the same cargo containers designed for 747 to be configured for use upside down.