Tranducer Positioning

Discussion in 'OnBoard Electronics & Controls' started by caughtafish, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. caughtafish
    Joined: Jan 2010
    Posts: 10
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Australia

    caughtafish Junior Member

    Hi All

    I have a 80's Savage Tasman on which i have a Lawrence fishfinder.This has worked fine till it started to loose signal at high speeds. I have just bought a gps/fishfinder combo to replace this unit and was thinking of repositioning the Tranducer whilst installing the new unit.

    I have a picture of the existing setup and the propsed new location of the Tranducer any advice would be appriciated.


    Thanks


    [​IMG]
     
  2. mydauphin
    Joined: Apr 2007
    Posts: 2,164
    Likes: 52, Points: 48, Legacy Rep: 575
    Location: Florida

    mydauphin Senior Member

    You will probably end up damaging unit against roller one day. You don't have much of an area to work with there.
     
  3. caughtafish
    Joined: Jan 2010
    Posts: 10
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Australia

    caughtafish Junior Member

    I did take the rollers into account and will move the post back so there is more space , the space from the roller to the unit is bit more then it looks ,the trailer is made for a bigger boat thats why it's so close , thanks for the tip :)
     
  4. Landlubber
    Joined: Jun 2007
    Posts: 2,640
    Likes: 124, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1802
    Location: Brisbane

    Landlubber Senior Member

    ...mount the transducer onto one of those alloy mounting plates that can be raised and lowered, that will solve the problem.
     
  5. CDK
    Joined: Aug 2007
    Posts: 3,324
    Likes: 147, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 1819
    Location: Adriatic sea

    CDK retired engineer

    The current position is the best one: horizontal and deep in the water, so there is minimal air.
    If you need to know the depth at high speed, fix the transducer one notch down instead of lined up with the bottom. Sound needs time to travel to the bottom and back, at high speed most of the returned signal reaches the surface behind the boat.
     
  6. Fishton
    Joined: Sep 2010
    Posts: 6
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Durban - South Africa

    Fishton Junior Member

    And you get a 'cleaner' flow under the transducer.
     
  7. caughtafish
    Joined: Jan 2010
    Posts: 10
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Australia

    caughtafish Junior Member

    What i just found after taking a closer look is that the Tranducer of the old unit is identical to the one on my old one , even the part part number is the same.I will angle it down one notch and see how it works with the old tranducer. I have searched the net for boats same as mine and all of the photos i have seen have the tranducer in the same position or close to it.
     
  8. caughtafish
    Joined: Jan 2010
    Posts: 10
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Australia

    caughtafish Junior Member

    One thing i was warried about, the rib that it's mounted next to at present would that not cause water turbulence?
     
  9. J3
    Joined: Jun 2010
    Posts: 60
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 16
    Location: MI

    J3 Junior Member

    I like a trailer which supports the boat as close to the transom as possible or ideally, bunks that extend slightly beyond the transom. After some years, you don't want it to develop any hook from the weight being carried by an unsupported spot some distance in front of the transom.
     
  10. J3
    Joined: Jun 2010
    Posts: 60
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 16
    Location: MI

    J3 Junior Member

    Yes I noticed the strake there.
     
  11. BTPost
    Joined: Dec 2009
    Posts: 47
    Likes: 5, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 85
    Location: Excursion Inlet, Alaska

    BTPost Junior Member

    Just a NOTE, here.... When deciding on where to place a Sounder Transducer, the critical factor in non-commercial type rigs is to get it in "Clear Water", and out of the bubbles and turbulence near the hull. This especially critical with any Planing type hulls. Any Air Bubbles that cross the transducer face will cause a BIG loss in Transmit Power coupled into the water, and an equally BIG loss in Receive Signal coupled from the water back into the transducer crystal. On displacement hulls, this is not so critical, but most Commercial transducer mounts set the face at least 6" off the hull surface, so as to minimize the turbulence that is flowing down next to the hull from crossing the face. Where Sounder Data is a critically important factor, (Like Crab Fishing) most commercial vessels will build the Transducer Trunk as much as 18 inches off the hull.
     
  12. pistnbroke
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 1,405
    Likes: 33, Points: 48, Legacy Rep: 404
    Location: Noosa.Australia where god kissed the earth.

    pistnbroke I try

    a the hull is fibreglass you can mount it to the inside of the hull against the outside skin with epoxy...no air bubbles please in the fibreglass or epoxy...works for me ....
     
  13. Fishton
    Joined: Sep 2010
    Posts: 6
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Durban - South Africa

    Fishton Junior Member

  14. WickedGood

    WickedGood Guest

    Its on the Wrong side of the boat.

    whoever put t on the Port has no idea of what they were doing.

    Your Prop Was will cause all kinds of cavitation over the transducer where it is located.

    Move it over to the Starboard side roughly about the same distance.

    run the wire up higher wher you wont submerge the hole under water. leaks in the hull are not a added feature.

    better yet, get rid of that silly transom transducer and install a Bronze Thrull hull aft amidships close to the centerline.

    [​IMG]
     

  15. pistnbroke
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 1,405
    Likes: 33, Points: 48, Legacy Rep: 404
    Location: Noosa.Australia where god kissed the earth.

    pistnbroke I try

    That would be because american boats have the steering on the port side whilst the rest of the world has it on the starboard..hence they run the wire shortest route to the console so it ends up on the "wrong" side
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.