Delamination in deck but no mushiness, what to do?

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by toolgirl, Aug 10, 2009.

1. toolgirl

toolgirl New Member

Hi there everybody.

First off I'm new and I did look through the forum but did not find anything on my particular problem. I also hope I'm in the correct section and please let me know.

I am waterproofing a Mariner 36' (New Hampshire) 1979. I'm new to working on boats and there are so many things to consider that I would like some help.

I have done the stanchions and all was good because the was no exposed core.
    Now I have moved on to the handrails since I know there was leakage, and it turns out that around at least two of the through bolt holes that hold the handrail, the core has rotten away completely. I can pull out a few scraps of wet, rotten wood but now I have done that I can't even see the wood. I have drilled the holes larger to install an epoxy washer as is recommended on the holes where there is still core and did everything as you are supposed to but there is no more core to be found at least in this area and possibly one other that I'm still investigating. I drilled a few holes from below (not going through the top skin) to let the core dry out and find the extent of the damage.
    When I tap the deck to sound it out the area that sounds hollow is fairly large (maybe 2 sq feet) and I know the best solution would be to open it up and replace the core. I am trying to avoid the labor, expense and mess (Hi there everybody.

First off I'm new and I did look through the forum but did not find anything on my particular problem. I also hope I'm in the correct section and please let me know.

I am waterproofing a Mariner 36' (New Hampshire) 1979. I'm new to working on boats and there are so many things to consider that I would like some help.

I have done the stanchions and all was good because the was no exposed core.