Are multiple 1/8" plywood strips as flexible, strong & durable as 1/4" bending wood strips

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by mitchgrunes, Sep 5, 2021.

1. mitchgrunes

mitchgrunes Senior Member

I'm at the early stages of trying to make a SOF (Skin-On-Frame) sea kayak, with a wood frame. I have no carpentry experience, and am trying make it as foolproof as possible. My boat should be functional, lightweight, durable, and should fit me. It does not need to be authentic or beautiful.

Some people, like Build Your Own Skin-on-Frame Kayak https://www.capefalconkayaks.com, favor traditional techniques, in which a fairly flexible but strong bending wood, like green (newly cut, high moisture content) or steamed or multi-week-soaked white oak strips are cut, and then bent into curved shapes, to form the ribs.

Unfortunately, such woods are sometimes hard to get at modern lumber yards, expensive, and most of the strips have significant imperfections that would weaken them, or have grain in the wrong directions, or don't work out for other reasons, giving low yield.

So many people, like SOF Kayak Builders Manual http://yostwerks.org/SBSectionsA.html, prefer to cut complicated shape cross section pieces out of plywood (though some use traditionally shaped strips), which is cheaper and more available, but which is less flexible, and denser, though that is complicated, because there are many types of plywood, and "marine plywood" is not cheap or readily available.

The traditionalists say, to make a very lightweight frame that is durable in storms and surf, use flexible woods instead of plywood. They also prefer lashed joints, which are more flexible than peg joints, screws or glue. Also, bending woods save weight over plywood, and the flexibility allows more margin for error when fitting pieces together.