Identify this boat?

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by nerdburn, Mar 2, 2009.

1. nerdburn

nerdburn New Member

I'm a software and interface designer by trade - I just had a boat given to me by a family friend as a project. I'm new to boating.

Here's a pic:

[​IMG]

I've been told it was built in 1936 and is possibly Dutch or German, it's wood, and I can't find an identification number on it.

Any ideas what it is? This is my first post, but since I will be making a major project out of this thing, I'm sure it won't be my last :)

2. bistros

bistros Previous Member

Ned:

Although you haven't found any identifying marks, you could provide an overall length, indication if the rig is masthead or fractional, draft, accommodations and general info that one of our European readers may use to narrow down the search a lot. Things like auxiliary power plant, rigging manufacturer, sailmaker etc. can really speed up identification.

Does the main sail have any class markings? Numbers? Is there a spinnaker?

All these things help a lot.

--
    Bill

3. nerdburn

nerdburn New Member

Thanks Bill - I'll head down there today, take some more photos, and see what information I can come up with. So far I know:

Boat length: 30'
    Sail height: 30'
    Sleeps: 3 - One V bunk and one bed/seat near the left side of the entrance
    Engine: 2 cylindar yanmar

I don't think there's a spinnaker, it seems to have a shallow keel (I've been told), it's quite thin as welll (I've been told), and it's missing the jib sail at the front. I haven't unwrapped the mainsail yet, so we'll see what's on there.

It's all wood, even the mast - the mast has two small crossbeams on it (not sure what those are called).

I'll investigate further, thanks for your help.

4. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member