Two part mold seams

Discussion in 'Materials' started by alien8, Jul 12, 2010.

1. alien8

alien8 Junior Member

Hi all , new member Brad here. I am not a boatbuilder but I been having a good time reading all the old threads and learning new stuff. I have been in the fibreglass game for 15 years (surfboard building).

I have a small molding side project going on at the moment and need some advise. First off, I have never done any gelcoat tooling/molding before so its good to learn all about this side of the industry.

I am making a two part female mold of a basic cylinder shape.Basically two U shapes joined together to form the cylinder and my question relates to the seams where the two halfs bolt together . I need to to achieve a seamless gelcoat look to the finished product. The cosmetic apearence of the gelcoat is of major importance. How do I achieve this? Could I use some kind of putty or silicon to fill up the small seam in the mold before I gelcoat/layup? If so should I apply the mold release over the putty or is it ok to gelcoat straight over it?

Cheers, Brad.

1 person likes this.
  2. waikikin

waikikin Senior Member

Hi alien, use a bit of plasticine(your fglass supplier will have it) & wax over to smooth- & maybe a wipe with a pva release agent(use a sponge with some methelated spirit to apply) you still want the seam to be slightly "negative" to the mold surface- once demolded the then positive seam line on the product can be hit with fine wet sanded & easily polished. All the best with your endeavours from Jeff. PS: if you've been doing clear board work in the surf industy you'll adapt easily to the gelcoat world!

Last edited: Jul 12, 2010
  3. tinhorn

tinhorn Senior Member

I used to fill the parting lines on my multipart molds with gelcoat putty. I mixed Cabosil into the gelcoat until I had a stiff paste, then squeegeed the paste into the seams. I did this immediately before gelcoating so that my gelcoat was applied to uncured putty.

4. alien8