Fibreglassing over new stringers.

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by valvebounce, Jul 22, 2013.

1. valvebounce

valvebounce Senior Member

Eventually got round to fibreglassing in my new stringers,first real break in the weather here in the Uk.
    It's a 13ft speedboat I am converting for sea fishing.
    Apart from patching cars,this is my first attempt.
    I have the resin and hardener (not epoxy)and 450 grade chopped strand mat.My concern is how to apply the resin,and the amount of time I will have before it sets.Do you pour it on,and then smooth out with a roller?Would it be best to roll the top of the stringer first and then roll the sides down,and then roll it onto the hull?(the hull is fibreglass and has been sanded down)

My fears are that I might push the strand mat out of shape.I have the back of the boat completely out and a new transom ready to be fitted,which is handy for access.
    I started this project last year and PAR has supplied me with some sound ideas.
    Just for interest's sake,a friend of mine who is a tinsmith for rolls royce marine engines,informed me that the hull design of this boat was invented initially by Lawrence of Arabia.

2. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

Ok basics
    The resin you have is how old ?? if its been sitting round for some time I wouldn't use it !! it has a use by date and it separates out and the promoters that make it go hard don't work any more !!
    same with the hardened you have it also looses it ability to make the resin go hard so used together could be a disaster !! .

I suggest you start afresh with new resin and new hardened .
    The glass sounds like chopped strand matt . again if its been round a while will crumble and fall apart . nothing wrong with it but the binder that holds the strands of glass break down and don't hold any more !

Now how big are the stringers you have ?? can you post some pictures please before we carry on any further ??