Gunwales, Keel Strips, Central Spine, Keel out of Foam Sandwich instead of PlyTimber?

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by eam, Jul 3, 2020.

1. eam

eam New Member

Hello,

so I am in the process (the beginning rather) of building a Woods Design Quattro 14 beach catamaran. I am new to boat building and have a few questions on the materials. I talked to the designer and got information on how to use the foam sandwich method with the plans, the only thing I am not sure about are the gunwales, keel strips, the central spines and the keel.
    The plans ask for 2"x1" for the central spine and for the keel strips its 1"x1" lightweight softwood, like sitka spruce or yellow cedar. Does it make any sense to replace the wood for those parts with a foam sandwich too or would this make the whole catamaran unsound because of structural reasons?
    The keel itself is normally done with two times 12mm plywood glued together to make it 24mm, would it be ok to use 2x15mm Divinycell as a replacement?
    Here is a link of a drawing of the Quattro 14 for reference: https://www.sailingcatamarans.com/ASSETS/quattro14.gif

Thank you in advance for any help!
    - eam

2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

3. eam

eam New Member

Thank you bajansailor, you are right with asking Richard, i just figured its weekend and I don't want to annoy him over every small thing and try a forum instead.

4. JimMath

JimMath Junior Member

The keel of 2 x 12mm ply would be good to be replaced by foam for sure , you save a lot of weight and when you hit something or beach it it's not a big deal .

Replace the 2 12mm ply with 2 12mm foam glued together with thickened epoxy and coat with 400g bias 45/45 (with Richards blessing or adjustments ) tape the keels to the Hulls with strips of same 400g bias glass with lots on Hulls and on keels ,say 3" , not sure of metric ....