lightweight jon boat

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by SnowyK, Sep 27, 2009.

1. SnowyK

SnowyK New Member

Hi Guys,

This is my first post so bare with me;

I am interested in constucting a lightweight 11ft jon boat (Storer Handy Punt) that can be easily transported on vehicle roof racks. Boat will initially be powered by a 6hp and will be used in sheltered waters only (may install 10 - 15HP at a later date).

I have not previously built a boat but have worked with polyester before modifying the internal layout of other vessels I have owned. I have no experience with core materials and am wondering if it would be possible to use honeycomb like nida core to construct rather than ply. If so;

- how would it compare to Epoxy / Gaboon plywood with regards to weight, strength and longevity?
    - What type of resin should be used?
    - what type of mat / cloth should be used and in what lay up?

My objective is to build something that is lighter than 50kg but still retains some degree of robustness to take the knocks and bumps that inevitably occur when car topping. Needs to plane with 1 - 2 75KG adults aboard and 6 - 8 HP.
    Cost is a consideration, but is secondary to weitght and strength.

Cheers

2. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

I would NOT recommend putting over 8 horsepower on an 11' jonboat. You can keep it light, but the lighter it is the weaker the skin of the hull will be. Having said that, a hull of 1/4" plywood taped at the seams with fiberglass then fiberglassed all over will be strong and not overly heavy. This should come in under the 50 kg ceiling you have stated. There are seveeral forums within this site from which you can gain invaluable information on building techniques from some very gifted designers, both professional and amateur. Good luck!:)

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder