Through hull fittings

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by 42 below, Dec 15, 2007.

1. 42 below

42 below Junior Member

Hi
    I am currently refitting a Roberts steel ketch and was looking for some advice!
    The question is do I paint the boat before I put my through hull fittings in?
    Cheers Doug:idea:

2. Kay9

Kay9 1600T Master

No, through hulls first, then primer and paint.

3. 42 below

42 below Junior Member

Cheers Kay 9

4. SteelTrawler

SteelTrawler Junior Member

I am curious, what are your thru hulls made of?

5. Wynand N

Wynand N Retired Steelboatbuilder

only when it is welded on...
    Any other through hull fitting that get screwed on, prime and paint first before fitting.

6. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Kay9,

I've got no experience at all with steel hull construction, but I'm surprised (if not welding the through-hull in) that one wouldn't sand rough hole edges, prime at least inside and out with epoxy, and then attach the through-hulls. This, I would think, would protect steel from corrosion/electrolysis better. I'm not saying I know this is true, but only want to know why not.

Alan

7. Kay9

Kay9 1600T Master

No, you guys are right. I assumed he was putting steal through hulls in. If not welding in through hulls paint first.

K9

8. 42 below

42 below Junior Member

Thanks chaps,
    The through hulls are stainless steel PSP fittings! and we are installing (welding) before paint.
    thanks

9. erwin.tarr

erwin.tarr Junior Member

Rhino Liner?

A little off topic but related to coatings...

Have any of you tried having a "Rhino Liner" style polymer sprayed on the interior surface? It seems that it should work. What do you think?

Ray Tarr
    Patrick AFB, Fl
    1963 Allied Seawind, Crackertail
    Hull # 25

10. Kay9

Kay9 1600T Master

What surface?...Wood, steal, GRP.??

11. Frosty

Frosty Previous Member