60's Fiberglass Floor Replacement

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by brotherdave, Feb 23, 2012.

1. brotherdave

brotherdave New Member

I am new to both this forum and working with fiberglass. I have a 14 foot v-hull boat built in the 60's, I think. There are no identification tags so there is no information on who the manufacturer is, and I am curious if anyone can tell from the photo. I am replacing the Transom and the floor, and I would like to know if the stringers should attach to the hull? I have read that they should not and I want to be sure.:confused:

Attached Files:

2. mydauphin

mydauphin Senior Member

If they are not attached to hull what would they be attached too. Let's see some inside pics. I don't recognized boat off hand but I have replace many a transom and rotten floor. You never know what your going to get until you start cutting. I have vibrating tool that lets me make surgical cuts in fiberglass decking or transom so that it can be put back with minimal of work. Many times work be done entirely from the inside.

3. brotherdave

brotherdave New Member

The stringers were originally attached to the bulkheads only. I have pictures clearly showing they are not in contact with the Bow, and are held in place by having fiberglass molded over them in an arch. It is my understanding that this covering is what creates the strength, not the actual stringers. I would attach the photos but I don't see how to do that in my reply.

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Dave, there are a couple of engineering approach used in this regard, one you've mentioned.

Typically, in the era of that boat's build, the stringers would be hard bonded to the hull shell, which would cause stress risers. To eliminate this issue, a soft bond is preformed at the contact point (where the bottom of the stringer touches the hull shell). This can be done several ways; a bedding compound, foam or other "pad" under the stringer.