Thoughts on differntial Cp foreward/aft

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Tim Hall, Apr 29, 2011.

1. Tim Hall

Tim Hall Junior Member

I'm designing a canoe/kayak (somewhere in between) hull, and recently in revising my section curves I noticed my Cp forward of midship was significantly lower than aft.

I suppose what this tells me is the hull is fuller astern, which is intended. But I'm wondering if there are any other implications to this.

Anyone have any thoughts on the merits/faults of having this differential?

2. ancient kayaker

ancient kayaker aka Terry Haines

Can you post the lines?

3. Tim Hall

Tim Hall Junior Member

Lemme format the drawing...

4. Tim Hall

Tim Hall Junior Member

You'll have to excuse the drafting conventions...I'm new to this. The shear line looks odd in profile because that's the point of tumblehome - haven't designed the topside yet.

Attached Files:

5. ancient kayaker

At a quick glance, I'd say the rocker forward is probably responsible for most of the difference. Extra buoyancy aft will shift the CoG aft a little. I don't have the knowledge to analyse it, but it looks like a nice, fairly conventional hull that should paddle easily and be fairly agile despite the long keel line, provided you do not add an external keel.

Any fore/aft asymmetry should mean that it will perform better forward than aft-wards so if fitted out as a double, it will not make a particularly good solo unless there is a third seat or one seat is movable. I don't think that will show up much in terms of speed vs paddling effort, but as a double, when paddled solo bass-ackwards as is commonly done, it may tend to crab.

There is probably more canoe and kayak expertise and experience on the kayak forum at http://www.kayakforum.com/cgi-bin/Building/index.cgi/

6. Tim Hall

Tim Hall Junior Member