Total noob. Small plywood sailboat questions.

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by unseen wombat, May 12, 2009.

1. unseen wombat

unseen wombat Junior Member

Hey guys. I'm new here and I have some stupid questions.

I'm in the first stages of looking into building a little wooden sailboat. I'm deciding on a plan, and I think this one is the one I'm leaning toward: http://www.svensons.com/boat/?p=SailBoats/Falcon. What do you think? Does it look seaworthy? Any difficulties in that plan I should be aware of? I expect to take it out on Lake Erie and stay near the shore (Nice days only)! or maybe to Mohican State Park.

Now my stupid questions deal mostly with the plywood.

1. When the sides and the bottom come together at the chine, one of those plywood sheets is going to have exposed edge grain. Isn't this bad for plywood, even marine plywood? Don't you need to somehow seal that edge? Is paint sufficient? Would gluing on a solid hardwood edging be good, or is that overkill?

2. Also, doesn't water come up between the plywood and the chine? Or do you expect the glue between them to be watertight? I know it's dumb, but that's the first thing I wondered when I saw that corner and no instructions for what to do in the way of sealing it.

3. Should I use douglas fir plywood? I hear it develops cracks in the paint over time because of its grain, and I don't want that. Are there any better alternatives? What about oak plywood? Or do I need to get that expensive scandinavian company's mahogany stuff if I don't want cracks?

4. Are stainless steel screws and bolts good? Or do I need silicon bronze if I don't want rust stains? (I've never built anything to be so exposed to water as a boat, so I don't know how stainless will hold up over time, but silicon bronze is expensive). We do expect to store it in our barn, so it won't be constantly afloat. Is there anything in the plywood that will react with the steel, like there is with treated lumber?