Build method for 26 foot foam core fglass yacht

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by hambamble, Jun 7, 2015.

1. hambamble

hambamble Junior Member

I want to build a fast racing yacht, and thought building to the GP26 rule would be a good idea. Its about the size my budget allows for and is a class thats taking off. I have a lot of experience with design (work in a design office) and repairs, but have never built a boat from scratch. I came across the Dudley Dix 'radius chine' plans, and also saw this on the net which got me thinking (sorry its in french but the pics do all the talking)

http://seasailsurf.com/seasailsurf/actu/4701-l-exocet-40-d-elie-canivenc-prend?lang=fr

I have put a lot of R+D time into this, and have come up with the following plan. Keep in mind that the boat has a hard chine. I will build the hull in three main pieces. Rules state the hull has to be fibreglass/foam so I was hoping to infuse as much of the build as possible.

Piece 1: centre section between the chines (this is the main part that will come into contact with the water and will be the most important to reduce drag). Has compound curves so needs a mould of some sort for construction

Build a female mould using CNC cut ribs and plank it. Cut in MDF/cheap ply it should be cheap to construct the mould. I'll probably have to leave out the first few feet from the mould due to the tight curvature and the work it will take to make a female mould this shape from scratch (Its easier to shape a block of foam once the rest of the boat is built)

Part 2:
    Ribs: CNC cut foam laid up and infused on a the infusion table. They will be cut within a few mm and should slot right in.

Part 3:
    From the chine to the gunwale, This part is designed as a developable pannel, so it can be made flat.