please advise on making a male mold?

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by tugboat, Aug 10, 2013.

1. tugboat

tugboat Previous Member

Hi- this is where I have little knowledge since I am a steel guy-
    after further consideration I will make a standard single skin frp hull rather than go with core.

I am hoping some on here could help me by informing me on how to go about skinning a male mold for a single skin frp hull? are there any threads on here that have ways to cheaply cover a male mold? what materials can be used that are cheap and nonstick and able to form to complex shapes?

I have considered a few layers of clear tape or some type of wire mesh that I can then make a single skin of csm over? but not sure what others have done-
    I could make a female mold but again - not sure how to go about doing this?
    could I build a half hull mold then join with epoxy? would that be strong enough?

the boat (if you know me ) is my tugboat which has lots of curvature.
    I understand how to get the basic shape in building the male mold...
    but don't want to fully strip plank the mold- that makes no sense or I would build a strip plank boat which I don't want to do.
    so any clear precise directions on how to do this would be helpful... could the tape idea work?

thanks
    Doug

2. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

I the design happened to have developable surfaces then the portions of the mold for the developable surfaces could be built using plywood. And if it had constant radius chines and the radius of the chines happened to match the radius of PVC pipe then the PVC pipe could be used for the chines. I remember seeing an article by J. R. Watson of Gougeon Brothers describing how he used PVC pipe as the mold for rounded chines on his sharpie. The chines were fiberglass and the rest of the hull was wood.

3. tugboat

tugboat Previous Member