The presence & pressure of gas's

Discussion in 'Stability' started by ted655, Apr 22, 2008.

1. ted655

ted655 Senior Member

Not being an engineer, I often ask stupid questions.
    In general, can someone explain the properties of gas's in an enclosed container? Taking a 1 cu. ft. sealed box/tube, how is is it's buoyancy affected by the insertion of different gas's? The box, with air, no pressure? The box, pressurized with 100# of compressed air? The box with a vacuum? Nitrogen, helium, hydrogen?
    I'm not able to think this thru on my own. Is displacement a simple factor of size X 62/64, or does contents in a sealed vessel affect it's buoyancy to a useful degree.
    do pontoons, (as a for instance), carry more weight if air is compressed or another gas is inserted? Will a football weigh less if another gas is used to inflate it? Will it fly farther?
    I'm thinking as a useful application of boxes /tubes installed on cabin tops & decks as self righting implements & wondering about manipulating the buoyancy of such tubes or boxes:) .
    Thanks, Ted

2. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member

The density of air at standard temperature and pressure is 1.2kg/Cu.m. The density of saltwater is usually taken as 1025kg/Cu.m. Roughly 800 times more dense than air.

Air compressed to 100psi (say 7 atmospheres) without heating will be 7 times more dense than air at 1 atmosphere or approx 8kg/Cu.m.

A vacuum weighs nothing. However the structure required to support a vacuum has to be able to withstand around 15psi so this will add weight to your tubes.

Hydrogen has a density of .09kg/Cu.m at standard conditions so close to nothing. Very buoyant in air hence why it is good for balloons.