Upgrading trolling motor prop

Discussion in 'Props' started by BS Flinn, Jul 15, 2023.

1. BS Flinn

BS Flinn New Member

Hi;

I'm running an 86lb thrust trolling motor on a 200lb boat, the idea was to use it like a 1.25hp electric outboard, of course being an amateur I didn't stop to think that a motor designed to move a 5000lb boat at 4mph wouldn't push a 200lb boat much faster, I'm fairly pleased with performance as is, but who doesn't want to go faster? :)

So what I'm considering is buying a aluminum prop about the right size and pitch, filling the hub in with epoxy, and using a drill press to drill a hole the right size for the shaft of my trolling motor, carving a groove on the back side for the trolling motors pin.
    Is this idea in any way feasible?

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

3. BS Flinn

BS Flinn New Member

Thanks Gonzo, I'll try searching for those.

4. SolGato

SolGato Senior Member

You need to know what the existing prop pitch, diameter, and blade count is before making decisions about trying a different prop.

Using a larger more aggressive prop designed for an ICE outboard motor which uses gear reduction without a way to monitor current draw is a great way to ruin your trolling motor.

Most trolling motors don’t have good thermal overload protection and use components that just barely meet the minimum requirements to be able to handle max loading.

If you don’t have a clamp meter to be able to monitor amp draw under loading conditions, definitely make sure you install a fuse inline that is sized accordingly for the max amp draw of the motor, or better yet just under.

While you are correct that you may be able to make use of a higher pitch prop since you are pushing a light displacement vessel, you must proceed with caution, especially if the motor has a ESC that uses PWM to control the motor.

Trolling motors with fixed speeds are a bit more forgiving when overloaded.