Which Uni?

Discussion in 'Education' started by greekshorty555, May 20, 2009.

1. greekshorty555

greekshorty555 New Member

Hello, i'm a high school student in France and i have applied to England for Naval Architecture and marine engineering. I have been accepted at Southampton University, Newcastle , UCL and strathclyde..but i don't know which one is the best. My father went to Newcastle and at that time he said it was considered the best for naval architecture however recently i have been hearing that Southampton is the best out of the 4 and UCL isn't bad either. Can anyone help me?
    Thank you!! x

2. zeroname

zeroname Naval Architect

i also need the same info ... any one inform me? are they also good for Msc ?

3. member 22129

member 22129 Previous Member

choose the best

That depends upon your area of intrest. Infact if u r enrolling for marine engineering course Strathclyde or univ. of glasgow are the best and more over the courses in this university are associated with RINA. Courses like boat building, yacht related course are most famous in South Hampton.

I too need some advice.. i got an offer from strathclyde. But now the situation is too worst due to recession as my friends n collegues said to me. But i m more intrested to do Marine Engineering. Now i'm working as a Design Engineer with a ship designing firm. So plz anyone can give some advice, shall i quit my job and take the course or continue with the job??

4. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

greekshorty555

I went to Southampton, excellent Uni, excellent course.
    UCL is very much heavy engineering based, because that is where the RCNC guys are trained. Strathclyde focuses on the offshore industry (not unsurprising) and Newcastle is also excellent, but over recent years has been "pipped" by Southampton.

Newcastle has an excellent nightlife...but bloody cold.
    Southampton has a good nightlife, but not as good as Newcastle.

I would place
    1) Southampton
    2)Newcastle
    3)UCL