advise on electronic setup boat on a new boat

Discussion in 'OnBoard Electronics & Controls' started by mikakun2012, Dec 8, 2011.

1. mikakun2012

mikakun2012 Junior Member

Hello, this is the very best forum on boat i have found !

first, please forgive any english mistakes because i'm not a native.

We have decided to get a boat for live aboard in pacific/indian ocean and maybe to build it (with assistance of an experienced builder) and i have already been reading threads here in there the past few weeks.

Before making any decision on whether buying or building I have to design the boat i want/need to evaluate all the costs. I'm now working on the electronic set-up with for objective : the maximum functionalities at the cheapest price whatever the headaches for installation.

I don't like the idea of having many interfaces and buying a quality/large display all in one is expensive (6000 to 8000usd from what i've found)

I'm a newbie in marine electronic (but with some technical skills) so i'm learning at every webpage i consult & getting little overwhelmed by the quantity of infos i'm trying to absorb right now, hence i need perspectives now to evaluate my idea of setup.

At this stage the cheapest/safest/most complete/most quality combinations appears to me to be :

a nmea multiplexer
    *to connect to all antennas & sensors (AIS,VHF,GPS,wheather station radar?navtex? winds, speeds, sounders...?)+autopilot? all bought separately at best price/quality value.
    *with at least 2 output -> one for a pc at the chart table with all the necessary software, one for an ipad or android (with usb input - don't want wifi - for reliability and health reason as well) with the necessary apps in a waterproof case for the cockpit (with a home made support to fit above the wheel)
    + one backup notebook
    + for safety bag balise+gps+vhf(?) all in one