Long term small craft design plans

Discussion in 'Education' started by Takson, Jun 11, 2014.

1. Takson

Takson New Member

Hi,

I've just joined the forum to start building my knowledge on boat design. I am a pretty avid sailor having been into everything water based since I could crawl. Windsurfing, dingy sailing, yacht sailing and motor/power boating.

I work in the software industry earning a reasonable crust, meaning a career change is not realistic to maintain income and provide for the war department and what seems like the 500 children (3 really). I have always had more than a passing interest in small craft design and build (a couple of windsurf boards, a mirror dingy and helped on a home made Gemini RIB) and would like to expand it into understanding the true design process to create my own.

Currently the plan is to design and eventually build or have built the retirement boat to take around the world. I have about 20 - 25 years before it happens I recon, but I would like to design a few along the way as a way to hopefully get it right.

Given the nature of my job and the fact I am not necessarily looking to have a career change I am looking at distance learning courses over 2 - 4 years, rather than full time courses.

Would the courses available (Westlawn for example) provide me with the foundation I am looking to achieve, or is there work I need to do before to make sure I get the benefit from the teaching available?

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.

Westlawn would be ideal for your goals.

3. CDBarry

CDBarry Senior Member