The game is afoot

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Boston, Apr 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ancient kayaker
    Joined: Aug 2006
    Posts: 3,497
    Likes: 146, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 2291
    Location: Alliston, Ontario, Canada

    ancient kayaker aka Terry Haines

    I may be too late but I created an XYZ lines table using Carene that will import into FreeShip producing the hull below. If the proper values are entered into the table (and the unwanted line entries deleted - Carene just spits them out) it may get you to the desired hull shape quicker. In case it's still of use I can email it to you, cthippo, but I need your email address as the forum email does not seem to permit text file attachments.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. cthippo
    Joined: Sep 2010
    Posts: 749
    Likes: 36, Points: 28, Legacy Rep: 465
    Location: Bellingham WA

    cthippo Senior Member

    Maybe we can compare notes. Attached is my .fbm as well as the table of offsets I converted to decimal to feed to Freeship. There is still a while line of points I need to get rid of and I still don't know how to do transoms, but I think i have a basic shape.

    Getting back to the original question though, is there a way to make freeship dump out section shapes?

    And Boston, I'll of course be billing you for the last 5 hours :p

    Email is my user name @yahoo.com
     

    Attached Files:

  3. ancient kayaker
    Joined: Aug 2006
    Posts: 3,497
    Likes: 146, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 2291
    Location: Alliston, Ontario, Canada

    ancient kayaker aka Terry Haines

    You're already ahead of me (I only have about 1/2 hour or so invested) so my inputs are not much help at this stage.

    You have to define the station locations first (calculations, Intersections)

    If you need a graphic use the Body Plan view and Visibility controls, you can then print (Right Click)

    If you need tables use File Export, Offsets

    I don't know how to do transoms either, as a canoe designer I never had to.
     
  4. Boston

    Boston Previous Member

    You guys are a riot, I've got my truck warming now and I gotta get another load of crap down to the warehouse. Am meeting one of the owners concerning a bigger space. Might, might not depends, on a few things.

    I'm kinda inclined to draw it out full size so I can use whatever sections I need to develop as templates for various pieces, I've drawn a lot of goofy stuff on the floor so I know what an advantage it is to have a full size drawing. Helps me get things just right. I hope. Besides lofting is part of the fun and its something I haven't done in so long its like starting all over again.

    Not that I wouldn't like to see what you guys come up with. I'm kinda assuming that once developed you can just point and click for various sections. But I suspect those sections wouldn't be full size or that some bit of fairing would still be necessary.

    Its not the lofting thats got me curious but what happens with these bulk heads. They cant be solid cause there's one right smack in the middle of the engine and there must be some reason they are now on 33 centers instead of the 36 station locations, my take on that is wait and see. That and Tads got a full plate right now so I'm just going to focus on getting a lofting floor down today.

    cheers and what are you guys doing goofing off on the computer when your supposed to be modeling my hull :p:p:p
     
  5. viking north
    Joined: Dec 2010
    Posts: 1,865
    Likes: 88, Points: 48, Legacy Rep: 1146
    Location: Newfoundland & Nova Scotia

    viking north VINLAND

    Counterfitting your plans to build their own boats with bigger motors to out run you---:) Geo.
     
  6. Boston

    Boston Previous Member

    draw out a grid ( which is what it sounds like your not finding measurements for, 9" is the magic number in both plan and elevation ) and locate the specified distance into that grid, if I remember your supposed to start out with the plan view, then use the info off the plan view to help develop the elevation and from there you should be able to develop sections for anywhere in the hull. The one that I had a hard time reading was the elevation for the the LWL so I found a reference line at station 5 where it looks like it bisects and went with that, If I'm off by to much I'll know it pretty quick. It looks to me like the chine crosses the LWL at station 5 or 2' 6" 1/8 off the base line.

    helps if you start with the sheer, chine, and full body, I seem to remember something about a ghost line which I think they are calling a fairbody on this call out sheet. Gives the bottom of hull at the keel/rabbit line, so you have the line defining the body as it intersects the keel. You can draw in the keel if you want but with those three lines in and fared its pretty easy from there. Or its supposed to be I think its been about 35 years since I did any true lofting.

    hey Geo, they can have those more powerful engines, I'm going to be grinning ear to ear when fuel hits $6 a gallon and I'm burning free fuels. Thats why I'm going for the IDI naturally aspirated engines only. Allows me to burn a variety of Bio-diesel which I'm already all set up for.

    [​IMG]

    Thats a 200 gallon fuel tank with enough filters to create clean fuel out of used motor oil. Which makes a fantastic diesel substitute, and its free.

    It might not have looked it but there was a method to my madness over the last few years, now to see how much tankage I can cram into that design I'm working on which is why I was doing those fuel burn calculations a few pages ago.
     
  7. viking north
    Joined: Dec 2010
    Posts: 1,865
    Likes: 88, Points: 48, Legacy Rep: 1146
    Location: Newfoundland & Nova Scotia

    viking north VINLAND

    I like it and if my motor wasn't so dam new I think i'd copy you but you've tweaked my interest to the point where i'm gonna ask you if you have the plans or if you sell this system. As i mentioned before my big rig has a 2002, 7.3 before they went totally computer crazy. How long have you been using this system and have you had any injector clogging problems? Diesel in Canada is now $5.13 a U.S. gal. and expected to go to $5.70 in a few months, insane --Geo.
     
  8. Boston

    Boston Previous Member

    I've been using WMO for a while now on a smaller scale until I get the big tank completely done, have been waiting for a controller for about 3 weeks now.

    runs great
    no problems at all
     
  9. ancient kayaker
    Joined: Aug 2006
    Posts: 3,497
    Likes: 146, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 2291
    Location: Alliston, Ontario, Canada

    ancient kayaker aka Terry Haines

    That’s because - other than cthippo - we don’t have enough to do to keep us off the streets.

    Nice. Soon you may need to hide it: I assume it’s already lockable . . .

    I gased up my minivan last week, $70, only 3/4 full. I’m not really worried though, it was the first fillup for 6 weeks. Gotta love retirement . . .
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. cthippo
    Joined: Sep 2010
    Posts: 749
    Likes: 36, Points: 28, Legacy Rep: 465
    Location: Bellingham WA

    cthippo Senior Member

    I'm doing the modern version of retirement, unemployed and impoverished. Might as well stay home and plug numbers into the computer.


    I'm wondering though, will the engine burn WMO without modification? I have visions of someone stealing Boston's fuel and then wondering why their car won't run :D
     
  11. Boston

    Boston Previous Member

    ya it will burn in any normal IDI diesel, It starts to get interesting in a DI diesel and it wouldn't work at all in a gasoline engine. I'm going to have a cage over the works so I don't think anyone will try it. The main thing was that I could process fuel on board and use it to fill up the boat.

    I have farm plates so I can carry up to 502 gallons of Hazardous waste and not even file a rout plan with the DOT. I can also haul just about anything I want. If I have a trailer attached the trailer automatically fall under the farm exceptions as well. I got my ducks lined up on the tank deal.

    The tank itself weighs in at a whopping 500lbs empty, 2000 full ( 3/16 plate has a tendency to do that. ) so I don't think anyone will try and walk off with it. They might try and hijack the truck but I have a kill switch in it, so not likely but I do worry about it cause that old POS doesn't lock.

    Anyway I'm cooking up some whiskey shrimp but once thats down the hatch I'll load up some photo's of the new space we are moments from getting into.
     
  12. Boston

    Boston Previous Member

    you guys are slacking

    I was expecting at least two private messages with a fully developed set of lines by now

    besides you could check on that water line I estimated and save me a ton of time figuring it out
     
  13. Boston

    Boston Previous Member

    to slow :p

    I figured out off the print the elevation of the LWL off base line, if I take the bottom of keel off base line 0' 1" 5/8 and add that to the max draft listed of 2' 4" 4/8 then I get 2' 6" 1/8 which agrees pretty darn well with

    so I've got two ways of looking at it that both point to the same dimension. My bet is I can go with that number and probably get fair lines out of the deal.
     
  14. ancient kayaker
    Joined: Aug 2006
    Posts: 3,497
    Likes: 146, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 2291
    Location: Alliston, Ontario, Canada

    ancient kayaker aka Terry Haines

    cthippo: I managed to add the transom and also fixed a couple of leak points below the W/L so the hydrostatics now display. Back to you!

    Not sure how familiar with freeShip yoo are, I didn't know the trick to adding the transom but it is:

    select all the points along the open back edge of the hull
    extrude them up and in a bit to create a transom face
    select and delete the edges inside the new transom face if a flat transom is desired
    select and remove the unwanted points left by the deleted edges
    move the last point at the top inner corner of the transom to the centerline and make it a crease so the top transom line goes straight across

    - few people claim FreeShip is intuitive . . . the leak points of course you find with check model tool

    - ooops. Just realised I saved it with FreeShip vn. 3.1 (FreeShip plus) - I hope you have that one!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 1, 2011

  15. Boston

    Boston Previous Member

    unfortunately it doesn't translate to MAC
    oh well thanks anyway

    B
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.