Can I make a steel boat unsinkable & self righting?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Byrd88, Jul 21, 2010.

1. Byrd88

Byrd88 Junior Member

Forwarning I am new to this & not very knowledgable, hence I have joined to seek your guidance... so be gentle. I am interested in making a steel boat unsinkable, like an ETAP, I know about the 2 compound foam used, but have noticed that it is used primarily in fiberglass or aluminum boats. Is it feasible or possible to have the same effect in a heavier steel boat? Also I'd like to make it self righting like a coast guard boat, but I'm not sure if they use floatation bags or how to go about that. I have noticed in my search that it is almost impossible to find such bags, except for kayaks... Any suggestions? Any help is greatly appreciated.

2. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

Yes, if you know how to do it.

-Tom

1 person likes this.
  3. Byrd88

Byrd88 Junior Member

Ok... would you by chance have any knowledge you'd like to expand on???

4. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

More than space allows (thanks for asking).

I believe the ball is in your court my friend.

You have some research to do.

Check out the Canadian and USA Coast Guard 47 foot life boats.

They have inverted instability and positive buoyancy.

Good luck.

-Tom

5. Ike

Ike Senior Member

Sure, Why not?

Self righting is a little more difficult than unsinkable. Unsinkable just requires enough flotation in sealed compartments to support the boat, its equipment, and passengers, while the boat is flooded with water. On smaller boats this is done with sealed flotation chambers, on larger boats with watertight bulkheads, doors and hatches.