Texas Title

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by mcollins07, May 26, 2013.

1. mcollins07

mcollins07 Senior Member

Although I'm not a legal expert, the lore is that Texas has no salvage laws.
    I first heard comment about the law years ago regarding a story of people losing their yacht after someone offering to tow them off of a sand bar. As a yacht owner, the fact that Texas has no salvage laws sounded like a good thing.

In Texas we have a significant problem with derelict boats along the coast, usually shrimp boats, but sometime sailboats. Marinas are often happy to see the non-boat-owner wanting to buy a dream. While visiting Florida, I asked around about derelict boats. I was taken back a bit when I got a response as if I were trying to steal boats. After that response, I realized the connection with the salvage laws of Texas and the derelict boat population. It seems Florida yacht owners have lost there boats as abandoned, when the owner did not consider the boat abandoned.

I now know of three boats, all less then 25', which would be worth fixing up if I had a clear title. These boats have been abandoned, and title searches have been done on two of them. Last owner of record is either not known or does not respond via usps mail. The third has no registration numbers. Does anyone know of a legal means to get title to a boat in Texas which has been abandoned for several years?

I've heard the suggestion of calling it home built, and applying for a title. This approach does not seem very practical. If a company tows and impounds a car, I think they eventually sell the car. Isn't there an analogous cost-effective way with boats?

2. philSweet

philSweet Senior Member