The all-in-one Mast

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by katfish, Apr 1, 2006.

1. katfish

katfish Wharram builder

I am not a sailor, have very little sailing experience, so would like to ask you experienced and senior sailors if the following is possible and practical. I am building a 42 ft Wharram Polynesian Catamaran. I do not want wires everywhere. I consider booms to be potentially dangerous, I want quick simple one person mainsail furling, and I want the mast to rotate +/- 45 degrees for stress release, efficiency and sail comfort. I am therefore considering designing a ply/epoxy/carbon fibre unstayed rotating wing mast with in mast furling. Am I asking too much?? Is this too outside the "box", or might it just be possible?
    I might add that as a helicopter pilot, I have a background in low speed aerodynamics and stress systems.
    Any help, advice, criticism (constructive only please) or otherwise would be appreciated. my email address is also available for communication.
    :)

2. SeaSpark

SeaSpark -

Cat, unstayed mast.

If you build a cat with an unstayed mast it would be very impracticle to put it in the middle. The nice thing with a cat is it has a wide base for the stays.

Putting an unstayed mast in the middle of the beams would require the beams to be very heavy. The one option for an unstayed mast on a cat is like the way they were used on Team Phillips from Peter Goss, see picture, these are unstayed rotating wingmasts. Concidering the way the cat was lost stress calculations on these sort of designs are still hard.

Eric Sponberg of www.sponbergyachtdesign.com has lots of knowledge on free standing masts and visits the forum frequently.

In mast furling has the disadvantages of a high centre of gravity from the furling installation and the sail beeing fully up the mast when furled. When you are at the point of furling a sail you also want the COG to go down.