Clinker boat design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by gusblake, Sep 9, 2008.

1. gusblake

gusblake Junior Member

Hi,
    does anyone know how I would determine the exact shapes that the planks need to be for a clinker/glued lapstrake dinghy?

cheers,
    Gus

2. gusblake

gusblake Junior Member

Just to clarify, I'm referring to the process of creating flat templates for the planks from the full scale line drawings. Does anyone know how to do this?

3. TeddyDiver

TeddyDiver Gollywobbler

Don't excactly know how detailed drawings you have, but I'm familiar with doing planks just shaping them in in their place.. so no templates. Plank width also varies depending of their quality etc..

4. gusblake

gusblake Junior Member

Oh.. how do you get them all accurate and symmetrical then?
    Sorry if these are stupid questions but I'm new to boatbuilding and no-one seems to be able to tell me exactly how the actual build process works.

5. TeddyDiver

TeddyDiver Gollywobbler

You pair them up for starters. Try to choose best fitting pair to their place. Build up both sides advancing same pace, each plank first shaped individually to previous one, then shaping upper sides so that their advance suits the hull form and as identically as possible. Makes that sense? It's kind of "in the eye" of the builder to determine how to shape boards.

6. TeddyDiver

TeddyDiver Gollywobbler

Peaked up Richard Birmingham book Boat Building Techniques Illustrated.
    A quote:" Prior to commencing planking the run of all the planks is marked by "lining out". The girth of at each mould is measured and divided..." then "light battens are tacked to the moulds..." then "Once the projected position and size of all the planks are considered satisfactory, the batten positions are marked on each mould and then the battens removed"
    Hope this helps. It's somewhat labour insentive but secure way to start

7. tom28571

tom28571 Senior Member

Gus,