Budget and planning.

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by GrumpyTim, Oct 8, 2008.

1. GrumpyTim

GrumpyTim Junior Member

I'm now trying to make a list of items about the building process, in this list I'll put the building order from start to finish and in the sub items I'll list the materials used (materials for the boat and materials for the consumables on that building phase) and labour estimates (for example, plating the for the plating phase, one welder, one helper worker, one grinder, that much welding gas and wire will be spent etc.)

After this planning and budget finishes, I'll have a roughly estimated time plan and cost for building the boat. After that I'll buy the plans from the designer and start building. I'm thinking about building a Dix43 sailboat. This plan should include from preparing the building site (safety equipment and planning, hiring workers etc.) to sailaway (putting the finished boat to the sea and make sea trials)

But I'm new to boatbuilding so I have some questions:
    1. is this a good approach to make this kind of planning? or what kind of planning should I do?
    2. is there any example that I can use as a template?

2. BHOFM

BHOFM Senior Member

I don't mean to be a smart a$$.. but projects like this,
    do all the math and then double it. If you are not willing
    to spend this much time and money, look for something
    else.

Every project I have ever done seems to fit this model.

I am already over budget on a 12 footer. and it is not
    near done. Cost over run will be about 60%!

Yes, it is a good idea to plan the project to the last detail.
    Yes, do all the math.
    Yes, keep an open mind!!!!

3. Brent Swain

Brent Swain Member

Buying a lot of used gear, which we are awash in, can make the cost a fraction of what you would budget for new stuff.
    Brent

4. GrumpyTim

GrumpyTim Junior Member